Freedom Block

My block is different from most of the others since I am piecing my block rather than using applique.  I am using a design that represents the Underground Railroad.  I spent the meeting time cutting out the squares, rectangles, and triangles I will need using a rotary cutter.  I am using beige and black fabric.
I chose the underground rail road for my freedom block because I had some background about it from experiencing it and how it affected the slaves. I had learned that they could trust certain people with symbols. The one block to the quilts is a monkey wrench. The monkey wrench is where there were tools available. I also learned that the boat trip was painful both mentally and physically. The labor was hard physical labor and the knowing fact that the southern white men could punish us at a minimum was mentally harsh. This is important because I realized then that we (as people now) should never take anything for granted. We should always be thankful and happy for what we have… We shouldn’t complain about small facts… They were brave and didn’t… They put their minds together and were courageous.

Cutting the black pieces

Cutting the black pieces


Cutting the beige pieces

Cutting the beige pieces

Categories: GIRLtopia Blocks | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Freedom Block

  1. dmwalsh

    Sorry I misled you on the cutting today. It was just so hectic at the start of the meeting. Would you consider just doing one of your four blocks?

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.