Career/Hobbies Block Evolution

I am designing the block to represent the past, present, and future of Career/Hobbies in Troop 62019’s GIRLtopia vision.  I knew I wanted to integrate a historical female hobby (knitting) with a courageous woman from the past who broke the stereotypical career image.  I  stumbled upon Harriet Quimby (see earlier posts).  You girls are studying hard in school in preparation for careers that quite possibly have not even been invented yet!

  • Career/Hobbies Sketch #1Sketch #1:  I knew that I wanted to use applique and needed a simplistic airplane.  Although I fell in love with my concept, the airplane looks too childish and is not the style flown by Harriet Quimby.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Sketch #2: Career/Hobbies Block Sketch #2 I liked the airplane in this sketch better, but needed to do something about making the image global and forward thinking.

 

 

 

 

 

  • Sketch #3:  Career/Hobbies Block Sketch #3The art teachers where I work, partially sketched the ball of yarn with the suggestion that the yarn could also be the globe.  How cool is that!?

 

 

 

 

 

Next week we will shop for our colors and we agreed to use green sashing and a cream or beige background.  (We also agreed a spot of red would set off the green and further unify our blocks.)  I know that Harriet Quimby wore a purple flying suit so I would like to incorporate that color as well.  Where do you think I should use the green from the sashing in the block?  What part should I make red?  Does anyone have any other suggestions for me?  I am looking forward to our shopping trip next week.

Categories: GIRLtopia Blocks | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.